mail hangs on leopard

The Problem

Started my mail client today and all I got was the menu bar with a nice spinning color wheel 😦

Not sure if this started right after the 10.5.7 upgrade or if there was something else…

The Fix

After running a few different clenup and fix-it tools (and reboots) I almost gave up on my mail but had to try one more last thing. I Deleted the mail folder in my home/Library folder. Then force killed mail and voila! mail booted.

Looking in my trash where the 6GB mail folder was located I found my signatures and all I need todo to get them was quit mail copy the signature folder over the NEW signature folder and start mail again…

I’m glad all my email accounts support IMAP.

Leave a Reply

